Nine Colors of Navratri for a Wholesome Navratri Celebration

Nine Colors of Navratri

As a land of festivals, India celebrates every season. Likewise, the country welcomes the arrival of spring with the spirit of celebrating Chaitra Navratri, also known as Vasant Navratri with the nine colors of Navratri. The 9-day festival marks the triumph of good over evil, fostering a sense of faith among people. This is the first of the four Navratri that India witnesses every year. Like every festival that graces the Hindu calendar, Chaitra Navratri holds a spiritual and special significance. It marks the onset of spring and celebrates the divine feminine by worshipping the nine forms of Maa Durga through devotion.

In 2024, the festivities of Chaitra Navratri will continue from Tuesday, April 9 to Wednesday, April 17. The end of this 9-day-long celebration also marks Ram Navami, the birthday of Lord Ram according to the Hindu calendar. While you pray to the different feminine energies of Maa Durga, do you know that each day is associated with different colors that hold their respective significance and value? Devotees pay their regards to the Goddesses by wearing these shades known as the nine colors of Navaratri. 

Day Of NavratriGoddess WorshippedColor
1Maa ShailputriRed
2Maa BrahmachariniRoyal Blue
3Maa ChandraghantaYellow
4Maa KushmandaGreen
5Maa SkandamataGrey
6Maa KatyaniOrange
7Maa KalratriWhite
8Maa MahagauriPink
9Maa Siddhidatri Sky Blue

Day 1 – Red: Maa Shailputri

The first day of Navratri is dedicated to Maa Shailputri, the epitome of purity and strength. On this day, people wear red outfits as the hue represents courage, strength, vitality, energy, and power. Also, this passionate color is a symbol of prosperity and good fortune. 

 Maa Shailputri

Day 2 – Royal Blue: Maa Brahmacharini

The second day of Navratri is associated with divine knowledge and wisdom, denoted by Royal Blue color. It signifies the majestic presence of Maa Brahmacharini. This deep, mystical color represents richness, inner peace, mystery, and transcendence. On this day, devotees seek the eternal truth of existence from the divine.

Maa Brahmacharini

Day 3 – Yellow: Maa Chandraghanta

Thursday or the third day of Navratri in yellow pays homage to the Maa Chandraghanta, the divinity of peace and serenity. Wearing the shade of the sun on this day is a symbol of brightness, optimism, and joy. Additionally, yellow is regarded as the color of enjoyment, grandness, peace, and wisdom.

Maa Chandraghanta

Day 4 – Green: Maa Kushmanda

As the festival progresses, the vibrant green shade mirrors the abundant blessings bestowed by Maa Kushmanda, the creator of the universe. From the nine colors of Navratri, green represents growth, fertility, and prosperity. Besides, it depicts new beginnings and the lushness of nature.

Maa Kushmanda

Day 5 – Grey: Maa Skandamata

On the fifth day of Navratri, people adorn the tranquil shade of grey. The shade reflects the innocence of Maa Skandamata, the mother of Lord Kartikeya. Grey is considered the color of balance, wisdom, and inner peace. This old-age color tends to keep one down-to-earth and draw strength from the Goddess.

Maa Skandamata

Day 6 – Orange: Maa Katyayani

As we move a day forward, the sixth day of Navratri is adorned with orange color, symbolizing the fierce aspect of Maa Katyani. This dazzling color illustrates energy, enthusiasm, and creativity. On this day, devotees ignite the divine spark within that awakens their talent and potential for the possibilities that lie ahead.

Maa Katyayani

Day 7 – White: Maa Kalratri

On the seventh day, the clean white attire embodies the majestic presence of Maa Kalratri. This sacred color symbolizes clarity, sincerity, purity, innocence, and devotion. At night, devotees bow down to purify their thoughts, and actions, and seek navigation through life’s journey.

Maa Kalratri

Day 8 – Pink: Maa Mahagauri

On Maha Ashtmi, as dusk descends, the soft pink color is dedicated to the epitome of grace and purity, Maa Mahagauri. The pink attire makes one look simple and innocent. Moreover, from the nine colors of Navratri, pink conveys tenderness, empathy, and forgiveness and cleanses our hearts of impurities. 

Maa Mahagauri

Day 9 – Sky Blue: Maa Siddhidatri

The final day of Navratri is also known as Maha Navmi or celebrated as Ram Navmi. On this day, the divine aura of Maa Siddhidatri is denoted in the mesmerizing color of Sky blue. This color of nature represents wisdom, enlightenment, and divine grace. As we conclude the festivities, devotees bow down before the goddess of divinity to attain peace and the path of righteousness.

Maa Siddhidatri

Through each color, Hindus around the world immerse themselves in the vibrant ocean of devotion and the eternal cycle of creation and destruction.